Did you know

Do you know – evaluation of The Indian Flag?

The national flag is popularly known as Tiranga, which means “three colours” or “tricoloured” which is symbol for freedom. The idea of having single flag for Indian country is raised by the British rulers after the revolution of 1857.  Take a look the following slides to understand the evolution of Tiranga.




  1. The ‘Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)’ sets standards for the manufacture of the flag.
  2. It specifies the cloth, dye, color, and thread count besides laying out rules regarding its hoisting.
  3. The Indian flag can only be made of ‘Khadi’.

Code of Conduct:

The flag is a national symbol and is respected by every Indian. There are certain dos and don’ts laid down for common people regarding the flag:

  1. Saffron color band should be at the top.
  2. No flag or emblem should be placed either above the National Flag or to its right.
  3. All other flags are to be placed to the left of the National Flag if they are hung in a line.
  4. When the National Flag is carried out in a procession or parade, it shall be on the marching right or in front of the center of the line, if there is a line of other flags.
  5. Normally the National Flag should be flown over important government buildings like the Rashtrapati Bhawan, the Parliament House, the Supreme Court of India, the High Courts, the Secretariats, the Commissioners’ office etc.
  6. The National Flag or any imitation of it must not be used for purpose of trade, business, or profession.
  7. The National Flag should always be taken down in the evening at sunset.



Leave a Reply